Inspiration

                  Approaching storm over the Humber: This photograph, taken from the north bank, was the starting point of my fascination with this place and an interest in the sublime. The overwhelming power of nature dwarfing the industry in the distance. The image is the spark which inspires my creativity. 


Then it starts to rain; a fine spring rain: I expose my canvas to the rain… …and I have the mark of the rain! – a mark of an atmospheric event.— Yves Klein, 1928 – 1962, Selected Writings”, ed. J & J, the Tate Gallery, London 1974, p. 61 





Interested in how to make works by unconventional means, without direct contact by the hand. I am inspired by Yves Klein. He strapped a canvas to his car and drove around in the rain to make a “recording” of the atmospheric conditions. 

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

