Skeffling Clays

I drove to a new viewing site today with great excitment as I thought I had visited them all already! This one is at Skeffling, I tiny village just befor Easington and Spurn Point. There is a remote viewing area for The Humber Estuary European Marine Site. The Humber Estuary is one of the most important estuaries in Europe for wildlife and therefore protected.

The views from here are emense and spectacular. The visiblility is clear from the curve of Spurn Point and lighthouse, the windmills in the distance on the southbank, Grimsby Tower and docks, Hull, the flame of Saltend chimney and the gas terminal at Easington. The vastness of this panorama gives a fisheye lens illusion to the view which I tried to capture in these charcoal sketches I did there.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice, Research and Development, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skeffling Clays

  1. kestrelart says:

    I particularly like the way you shaped the lower picture with broad and fine marks

Leave a Reply

