Paintings from Inside Cars

Gregory Thielker

“These images are born out of real experience and have a close relationship with the medium of painting: its fluidity, transparency, and capacity for layering, mixing, and blending.” Gregory Thielker

http://www.gregorythielker.com/Under/unmindingsky.html

View through a rain-soaked car windshield

This view through a rain-soaked car windshield is an oil painting by Gregory Thielker
He writes:

These paintings became a way to explore how driving in weather shifts and changes the views outside the car as well how the driving experience informs our basic interpretation of environment. We easily understand how painting can mold cultural perception, which in turn influences landscape design to become more like .

The reason I am drawn to these paintings is because I am often sat in my car whilst viewing the landscape. I do walk a lot along the river but I also love to experience extreme weather from inside the car. Although I am removing myself from experiencing the physical reality of the weather I still have a sense of vulnerability and exposure to the elements. I enjoy the sound of the rain on the bonnet, the sight of running droplets on the windows and feeling the rocking of the car in high winds. So this is an all round sensory experience but I feel safe and cosy, like being in a bubble. These paintings are very photographic in technique, yet ths subject matter is highly abstract. I find all these contradictions stimulating.

 

 

 

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Research, Research and Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paintings from Inside Cars

  1. Pingback: painting the rain | signedviolet

Leave a Reply

