David Blackburn: Pastel Landscapes

David Blackburn
Landscape Vision 37
Pastel on paper 198 x 161 cm.

I came across this artist while reading the wonderful book “This Enchanted Isle” by Peter Woodcock.

 

Earth Triptych: Creation
David Blackburn
Pastel
15 x 35.75ins

 

 

Blackburn’s landscape work has a mysterious and other worldly feel.  I think this is due to his masterful handling of pastel, a difficult and unusual medium which can produce a wonderful softness and blurring of edges.  He has a strong colour sense; perhaps as a result of his background in textile design at the RCA. These images intrigue me and I know I will be inspired by his approach when I get immersed in my practise.

I will now have to see if I can get hold of this book: David Blackburn: The Sublime Landscape by Charlotte Mullins.

David Blackburn
Beach Figure, 1977
pastel on paper
64 x 53 cm

This is a link to an excellent interview with him by Ron Phillips in 2002

http://www.studio-international.co.uk/painting/blackburn.asp

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Research, Research and Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to David Blackburn: Pastel Landscapes

  1. Ron Celano says:

    These are outstanding. I am a colored pencil and just recently pastel portrait artist (http://rcelano.wordpress.com/2012/02/24/pastel-portraits/). I never was any good at landscapes, but these examples put a whole new perspective on what can be done.

    • Hi Ron, thank you for your comment. I love it when you come across new artists using techniques in a different way. I need to find out where I can see some of David Blackburns pieces in real life. I enjoyed reading your post giving facts about pastels. Good luck exploring the pastels in your work. Annemarie

  2. Pingback: Back to my work | etherialglue

Leave a Reply

