Curvature: Pastel

I had already had these shapes as an idea before I can across the pastels of David Blackburn but his work has given me the inspiration to realise them in a different format.

The piece is quite large in scale 100 x 70 cm so was quite physical to work on but I enjoyed the process. I can see possibility in pushing these shapes further trying various media and scales, I already have ideas rushing around my head.

Curvature: Pastel
100 x 70 cm
Paper

Now it is finished I notice and am interested in how I have separated the 3 elements; air, earth and water, so each is contained in their own space.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice, Research and Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Curvature: Pastel

  1. Your latest pastel drawing is beautiful Annemarie, I love how the shapes have completely changed the way you read the work.

    • Thank you Sarah, I cant wait to explore it further in the next couple of weeks. I am impressed with your casting, looks like you are having lots of problem solving but also you are learning and perfecting lots of new techniques.

Leave a Reply

