Sketches: Paull Holme Strays

There was a beautiful sunset yesterday so I drove out to Paull Holme Strays. This place was created by the Environmental Agency as part of flood management scheme of the Humber and a very important area for wildlife habitats. There are incredible sweeping wide-angle views and the sky is huge. It so tranquil and atmospheric there and usually isolated.

I am still trying to find an access place to collect some mud to use in my work (I thought this would be really easy) but either it is too perilous to get at or the tide is high.

I did a couple of quick pastel sketches while watching the sunset. I am starting to enjoy drawing on location much more now and am gaining confidence. I actually did not take any photographs this time as I caught the impression on paper instead.

Spring Sunset Paull Holme Strays

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice, Research and Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

