Time to focus on practice

At long last I have the time and space to get totally immersed in my practical work.

I spent time at college today setting up my workspace and staring on some silk pieces.

This photo gives an idea of the scale I am working on at the moment. I have been using dyes and discharge paste (a kind of bleach).

As this was my first session I felt a bit tentative and unsure of what I wanted to achieve. I am sure the more time I spend working my ideas will start to formulate and evolve. At the moment I just want to get some imagery down onto fabric and paper, experimenting with a range of media. For me the speed and spontaneity are proving to be of paramount importance, I was working on four pieces at the same time.

Dye and bleach on paper

The works on paper are more straightforward and quicker to produce whereas the fabric pieces are slower and more frustrating as the results are much less predictable.

Dye and discharge paste on silk

I  am going to explore working onto unprimed canvas to see if there is a happy medium to satisfy my need for speed with the desire to manipulate the surface.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice, Research and Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time to focus on practice

  1. Anonymous says:

    : ) I like the one with the orange dots!! Moody, yet uplifting images.. Look forward to seeing this develop!

  2. browhill says:

    Fantastic! All that research is paying off, good idea to try the same thing on canvas

Leave a Reply

