Continuing practice

Today I carried on in the studio. I washed and worked over some pieces I did yesterday.

This piece was a response to the pastel drawing I did the other week. I experimented with leaving creases in it making it an odd shape, I hope you can make them out in the photos.  The problem with this is it would be very difficult to find a way to display the work.          I don’t feel that I have got my colours right today, they look too garish, I will take more time to mix a new set of subtler colours.

Dye on silk

Dye on silk detail

Again I was working on 4 pieces at once, if I had more room it would be much more.         I also explored the qualities of Manutex (a dye thickener made from seaweed) as a resist which I haven’t tried before; I don’t know the results of this yet as I am waiting for the samples to dry before being washed.

I worked with my music on today which I find really helps to free my mind in a similar way to the automatic drawing of the surrealists.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice, Research and Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Continuing practice

  1. marjorie says:

    Very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

