Todays Results

I have spent a large part of the day producing new work and also reworking some pieces I produced last week to strengthen the compositions.

Large Curve

This piece is on silk and over a metre long. I used the seaweed based manutex as a resist. Some dye powder accidentally got into the manutex and produced a speckled effect which I liked and may experiment with again.

Night Lights: Barton

This piece is slightly smaller and on a silk viscose mix fabric. It has been through many different stages, sometimes it is hard to know when a piece is finished! I initially wanted the orange to be much brighter producing more of a glow but actually the more subtle effect I achieved has a sultry quality that satisfied me.

Still Morning

The above piece is on linen using a lighter softer palette. Again it is just ove a metre long. It has been painted with dye then folded and dried in the heat press. I have decided to leave the creases in to add interest and texture.

 

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice, Research and Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Todays Results

  1. Pingback: Tutorial: Rethink | etherialglue

Leave a Reply

