Ways of working

"Mystic Stone" by David Blackburn 1993 pastel

“Each new work grows organically from the last one completed, the colours that surround him as he creates a new drawing based on the last finished work.”

“The trance-like state he falls into when working allows his ideas to find their way onto the paper as if automatically. “When the work’s going well,” he says, “you, and the paper, and the image are as one, it’s a complete union between you and the making of the image. You work and work, and sometimes nothing is going right, then the miracle happens, and you don’t know why but there the picture is.”

“But in all his drawings, the real world is just the point of departure. “The hills are necessary as a starting point, a mechanism for liberation. They are the door to enter somewhere else, but they are no more than the door.” Through using the landscape as his palette of motifs, he expresses his own feelings about being in the word, his place in it and his emotions. His mind houses his visions and, shut off from the world in his studio, he assesses them through the door in the landscape.”

C. Mullins, David Blackburn: The Sublime Landscape, Hart Gallery, London, 2002 pp 37, 38, 43

I love this description of how the artist works as it relates so strongly to how I approach my practice. I prefer to work alone listening to music which acts as a distraction to take me into a meditative state which enhances vision and encourages spontaneity. The landscape I immerse myself in has an emotional effect on me and I want to respond to it. Saturated by the atmosphere, the visions are a springboard to my creative process, exploring and reacting to the media in creating something which evolves organically.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Practice, Research, Research and Development, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ways of working

  1. This sounds interesting indeed. I can relate to this level of thinking my self, there are similarities in my artistic processess / reasonings etc.. Love that image too : )

Leave a Reply

