Painting on the pier


 

I was a bit worried about doing this in a popular spot as I usually work in more isolated places. As it happened I wasn’t bothered by a soul.

Essentials

The first day was a bit bland, very grey with not much to focus on and I was not very happy with the painting I produced but enjoyed working on this loose graphite drawing.

Graphite drawing

The next day was much brighter with plenty going on in the sky and across the south bank to hold my interest.

Watching paint dry

The dramatic sky inspired me to be bolder with my colours.

I was becoming more abstract as I felt a need to intensify my colours and begin to see the colours as blocks and texture, I think I have been a little inspired by the amazing Miro prints I saw earlier in the week at The Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

Horizontal blocks

I intend to continue producing paintings on a small-scale to build up inspirational images to translate into larger pieces.

Floating shapes

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

