Lilian Colbourn

I have been concentrating on enjoying my practical work over the summer, immersed in making many sketches on location. My problem is that I have been avoiding developing these sketches in the studio.  I feel rather lost at this point and a little scared of moving on but I should feel really excited about it. I have returned to my theory research in the hope of finding inspiration to take my work forward and encourage me to take the leap to the next stage. I hope that this will lead to some unexpected and stimulating outcomes.

Lilian Colbourn: Sea Movements
Charcoal and watercolour
11 x 15 inches

When I visited the Messum’s Gallery in London I was given a catalogue featuring the work of Lilian Colbourn (1897 – 1967).

Finding out about her I related strongly to her approach and methodology. I feel an empathy with her gestural style and intimate response to the coastal landscape around Staithes, a tiny, remote village in North Yorkshire. Colbourn made rapid spontaneous sketches en plein air which she then took into to the studio to translate onto canvas attempting to bring together both visual and emotional response to the experienced environment. I am inspired by the  fluidity and dynamism of her sketches, something I would like to develop further in my own work.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Research and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lilian Colbourn

  1. Sue says:

    Thiis is wonderful. It has so much energy. I can’t stop looking at it:)
    xx

    • sue and glenn says:

      hello,
      we live in hull and have a lillian colbourn painting its called the white boat
      my dad bought it in the 60s its an oil on canvas

  2. Hi Sue and Glen, thank you for visiting my blog, you are very lucky to own a work of art by such an interesting artist, your dad must have a good eye. Annemarie

    • sue and glenn says:

      hi annemarie
      the picture was the one thing he kept through out his life and his travels,
      which is another story alltogether
      glenn

Leave a Reply

