One year on

 

As the nights are drawing in I am reminded that it has been a year now since I began working on this project. My ideas and methods have changed considerably, narrowing down my focus and absorbing the landscape to saturation.

Studio

The diningroom has once again become my studio, I feel happy and content working there.

Flat Bottomed Clouds

I am producing a few pieces to sum up the experiences I have had working on location over the summer, I am working with dyes on paper in rather strong colours.

Yellow Curve

This work is in preparation for the acrylic staining I intend to do on canvas and a change in scale. I have all the materials now I just need to mix the colours and see what happens.

South Side from Skeffling
Dye and pastel on paper

Towards Paull with buoys

It seems like a huge step to me, I don’t know why I feel so apprehensive but hopefully I will be ready to go for it at the weekend.

I am aware of the skies changing back to the more dramatic winter spectacles that I was initially witnessing last year. It is the time of year I find most exciting, particularly as the night comes in and the lights appear across the river. Back then I was capturing the scenes with my camera rather than personal observation and response. Now a rarely feel the need to take photographs preferring to draw or paint directly. The past years experiences have developed and intensified a great passion for drawing and being immersed in the inspiring landscape, and I am very grateful for that.

 

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One year on

  1. Helen says:

    I really like these paintings, especially ‘Towards Paull with buoys’ I think this would look great on a long canvas and I like the blocks of blue in the sky. xx

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great to sea and hear that you are immersed in enjoyment of the practice, as it unfolds.. look forward to the bold new moves..

Leave a Reply

