A different perspective: The south side

On Friday I made a trip to Humberston in Lincolnshire specifically to see the views of  Spurn Point from the south bank of the Humber and I was not disappointed.

Rain over Spurn from Humberston

To my dismay I realised I had left my watercolour paints on the table at home but luckily I had my pastels with me to work with these gave a heavier representation of the scene than I would have liked.

The views across the Humber mouth were incredible, wide open with plenty of points of interest. I tried to capture the dramatic rain clouds touching the land as it traveled along the north bank towards Spurn.

North from south

The lighthouse at spurn could be clearly seen and it appeared so close, both the forts in the water on either side of the river mouth looked spectacular, gave a sense of perspective and heightening the drama of the landscape.

The beach at Humberston

 

 

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

