Monotype Prints

Produced by applying oil based ink onto an aluminium plate then passing it through a press to transfer onto damp paper.

I produced a series of mono-types last week, I feel that I want to experiment more with different media to help me develop my sketchbook work in new directions. I really enjoy working with mono-print and monotype, the processes provide a freedom and looseness that excites me. The rapidity of production is perfect for my spontaneous approach.

The imagery in these prints was inspired by visiting the River Humber at sunset, watching the shimmering orange lights appear on the south bank as the light fades.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
Aside | This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monotype Prints

  1. wirralhub says:

    excellent, nice blog…really enjoying my visits

  2. alicefoxtextiles says:

    These are great. I’ve not tried Mono-types but it sounds fun x

    • Thank you Alice, you should try it out, just like mono printing on glass but you get much stronger, more satisfying results. I am still following your blog and hope that your latest show is going succesfully.

  3. browhill says:

    Dramatic and atmospheric, I love these!

Leave a Reply

