Losing the Horizon

Dusk

I delivered my paper at the MA symposium this week. I have been dreading the thought of publicly talking bout my work but somehow got through it. The symposium was brilliant in two ways. Firstly it was wonderful to hear and see what the rest of the group have been up to since before the summer holidays, everyone seemed to have gone on an interesting journey and has some sort of revelation and it was a very supportive experience. Secondly writing the paper made me closely analyse the work I have created so far and reflect on how it could develop.

The landscape I am studying is very minimal, just a thin strip of horizon to provide a boundary between the elements and any recognisable sense of perspective. The work I have produced has evolved into long thin strips focussing on the horizon; this is very limiting when the environment is all-encompassing. I have become interested in the areas where there is no horizon, where the land disappears and there is a blurring of the elements. Where this happens the only references are atmosphere and light. These are the elements of the landscape that move me, hold the essence of my fascination and encompass the sublime qualities I am striving to contain.

Light

There is a strong relationship between light and the sublime, Kant considered that “Beauty may be accentuated by light, but either intense light or darkness (the absence of light) is sublime to the degree that it can obliterate the sight of an object.

Atmosphere

Still visiting and observing the landscape I intend to use only memory and sketches to inform my studio-based work. I endeavour to liberate myself, adopting a more abstract, expressive approach placing emphasis on the medium and processes. I hope this will inject some intensity into my work and produce something new.

Circle

David Blackburn, an artist I greatly admire, said landscape artists begin by describing the world, move on to transforming the images seen directly into some form of abstraction and later these become an inner vision without the need for reference points, just expressive freedom. This seems to sum the journey I am experiencing through this investigation.

Ebb

I am looking forward to working with the dyes and silk I began my exploration with.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

