Comparison of materials

This is a time for analysing what I have produced so far and to explore possible way to develop. I have been concentrating on trying to produce larger scale work and discarding any literal interpretation of the landscape. This has been liberating so far, encouraging me on to be much more experimental with the media and engage physically with the materials and processes. I have been working on both silk and canvas using dyes, liquid acrylics, resists and bleaching processes. The chosen materials require very different approaches.

Here are some images of how I work with the silk. Each piece is build up sometimes with over ten layers. Areas can be taken away with the bleach or resists added to maintain lighter or brighter colours. 

Silk: This can be folded and creased very easily and the dyes bleed right through several layers, the colours applies are very intense and bright. The dyes dry quickly allowing a rapid spontaneous applications of layers, transparency of the dyes means each layer is still visible but becomes softer building up a richness of colour. Washing of fabric is required between each layer. The silk maintains the folds and creases easily so there is an option to leave in the texture and produce three-dimensional results. Size is limited with the silk as it is only available in certain widths, it is also rather expensive to buy which could have an impact with my creativity as it could inhibit the risks I take worrying that it may go wrong. The silk requires less space to work in as I work with it folded or scrunched. I work on paper during the dyeing process and am finding the marks left on the paper to be very interesting and as pleasing as the fabric results.

Canvas: This is stiff so folding and creasing is more difficult but I need to experiment with this further. The cream colour of the unbleached fabric dulls the colours and gives blues a green cast. As the pigments sink in they bleed leaving a strange tide mark (like a halo) around the colour, an effect I find pleasing. The canvas can be purchased in much larger sizes and is relatively cheap so I do not worry so much about things not working out. The canvas has to be laid on the floor so requires a large area to work in.

Both materials have pros and cons, I am more confident with the silk but want to explore the canvas as it is a newer approach to me. I would like to work on top of it with thicker paint giving opaque contrast to the transparent staining and perhaps including drawn lines. 

This is a very exciting time, I hope my work evolves through this experimentation achieving new, unpredictable outcomes and capture a sense of the elusive light and atmosphere of my subject.

 

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comparison of materials

  1. browhill says:

    Subtle and atmospheric colours. A great balance between control and accident. You are on the right track!

Leave a Reply

