More studio work

As I embarked on the next few days intensive painting I was consumed with doubt, lack of vision and worry that I won’t be happy with what I produce and my time will have been wasted. However I was determined to become immersed in the creative act of painting and the challenge of working on this large-scale.

Over the next three days I worked on the second painting. I wanted a contrast to the first one which was really dark and intense. I had in mind the effect of some of my digital drawings, to achieve the blurry lines and transparent layering.

Fresco72089

My aim was to capture the feel of a bright beautiful silvery morning as the mists clear and the sunlight sparkles on the water.

DSC02738

 

As I worked the painting evolved in many ways. The application of the media was rhythmic and became a little like a dance as I walked around the painting viewing it from all angles and making aesthetic decisions, being spontaneous constantly changing adding layer after layer. Here are some of the images documenting of the slow buildup.

DSC05557 DSC05560

 

DSC05563

 

DSC05567

 

DSC05578

 

DSC05582

DSC05585

 

 

DSC05586

DSC05590

 

DSC05596

 

I got to a point where I needed a break from this painting. At some points it had become too muddy at others it had become too structured or decorative. Often it is not until I get home and view my images on the computer screen that I can see clearly what it is that needs to be done next. The purchase of some decorating rollers was really helpful to speed up application of paint, lengthen my reach and to achieve the blurring of edges that I am striving for. The amount of white paint I am using is rather alarming, I am thinking of buying large pots of emulsion paint to work with as the small tubes are going nowhere. Putting the work on the wall so I could stand back from it helped to get a different perspective. I feel it is getting close being finished, I am sure that I will know instinctively when it is.

 

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

