Making Progress

I am continuing to work on my silk pieces. I work on two at a time so that I am not idle during the drying time. I have noticed that I have two distinctly different ways of working. The first is to approach the fabric in the same way as a painting so apply the dye directly with a brush, sponge or roller as in this piece. I also use water to soften some of the harsh edges.

DSC06512

This method seems to work best on the thicker silk/linen fabric. The other way I work is more about manipulating the fabric, dipping, folding, bleeding, shibori and discharge. This is a more organic approach with softer but much less predictable outcomes.

DSC06508

DSC06510

DSC06519

As I gain momentum I become much more confident with the fabric and daring in the application of techniques and processes. As I go along I am also learning how to handle the flourescent dyes and how they react to the fabric being wet or dry and how they change when layer are applied on top. I find this new media extreamly engaging and inspiring which motivates me in the production of these pieces.

About Annemarie Tickle

I am a Lecturer in Textilesat Hull School of Art and Design. As a visual artist I am interested in interpeting sublime aspects of the landscape through manipulation of fabric and expressive use of dying techniques.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

